Change Manifesto – Month 1.

Back at the start of the month I committed to being an overall better person.  I looked at things that I really should be doing automatically and wrote them down in the hope that I could do at least one of these things on a regular and daily basis.

So although month 1 is not completely  over yet, I wanted to see overall how I got on.

For the first few working days of the new year I will admit it was quite tough to follow through on any of my resolutions and commitments.  I think everyone found the first few days back at work a bit of a nightmare – don’t deny it. You know you did.   Luckily for me it was only a short week and I was delighted when the week was over and I could really get back and stuck in to a routine again.

Looking over each column and judging on an overall PASS or FAIL ratio – here we go.

Column One

  1. Stop Procrastating – FAIL – ok it is really neither here to there but overall I am still trying to shake myself in to this one just alittle bit more. So it is a fail.
  2. Be an early riser – PASS ! So happy with this one. I haven’t had to jump my way out of bed and dash out the door yet this year.
  3. Be on time – PASS – in general courtesy of the above.
  4. Do more kind deeds – FAIL – I can’t think of one kind deed that I did in January.   Oh heck – this one needs more effort.
  5. Don’t bad mouth others – PASS – I think I did ok on this one ( surprises me too )
  6. Read one meaningful article – FAIL unless you can count reading all about Kim K and the baby as a meaningful article. No? Ok didn’t think so.

Ok column one down and that is 3 Passes out of 6.  Not too bad.

Column Two

  1. Deliver my best performance at work – PASS – I think I am doing a marvellous job in work even if I say so myself.
  2. Get rid of clutter – FAIL – ok this is a medium as I am starting on this process but it definetly is not even half way there yet.  I have alot of clutter.
  3. Learn to see the positive – FAIL – I am working on it….. bare with me. When you go through so much crap in life it is sometimes hard to see positive.
  4. Turn every challenge in to an opportunity – PASS – I am doing quite well on this one as I feel especially with work life it is helping my own skills and my CV.
  5. Stop beating myself when bad things happen – FAIL – I haven’t had much reason to beat myself up so I can’t say if I would have reacted in a better way.
  6. Tidy as I go – PASS – So happy at this one.

Column 2 – 3 passes out of 6.  Is there a trend starting here?

Column Three

  1. Discipline myself with money – PASS – So far so good. I am adding to my fitness money jar every time I exercise. I am conscience of prices. I even went shopping and bought NOTHING! Not because I am slightly poor but because I didn’t need anything and I had restrained to say no.  It killed me by the way … but I said no.
  2. Be a self starter – PASS – I am motiviating myself out of the ball park in work and in my every day life.
  3. Strive for excellence – PASS – I am doing quite good on this one as well.
  4. Say Thank you – PASS – simple things in life are so good.
  5. Say please – PASS – simple but works in making me a better person.  It is amazing  how many times in general life i was forgetting to say please and thank you to people.
  6. Stop rolling my eyes – FAIL – Not that I have done it – but knowing me I did and I just can’t remember. Lol

5 Passes out of 6 – oohhh this is getting good.

Column Four

  1. Keep Promises – PASS – So far so good.  This has to be maintained across the board year though.
  2. Quit Complaining – PASS – I was good this month.
  3. Complement people more – PASS – Only just today did I compliment a co-worker.
  4. Remember peoples birthdays / special occasions – PASS – Thank you Facebook.
  5. Take time out to rejuvenate – FAIL – I haven’t really pampered myself since Jan 1st – so I need to work on this one a bit more.
  6. See the positive side – PASS – If I was any more positive even I would punch my own lights out.

5 Passes out of 6 – another little trend starting

 Column Five

  1. Quit gossiping – FAIL – I even walked away from the scenrioa i was gossiping in and i immediately felt bad.
  2. Be more positivie – PASS – abit of a duplicate to the last column but I am.
  3. Be more forgiving of myself and others – PASS – I was very good at not punching someone that forgot to call a very important client which almost cost us business.
  4. Be the first to say hello – PASS – even if it is just in social occasions it is a step up for me so I am taking the glory and credit on this one.
  5. Give people more than they expect – PASS – I am trying to go that extra mile.
  6. Live life to the fullest – PASS – I just asked someone out on a date !!!

5 passes out of 6.

 

One month of passes on some of these items does not make a successful me and does not mean that change manifesto has worked. I am going to keep a spreadsheet (like below) and it is only when the majority of the board is pass on a consistent basis will I know if this has truly been a successful year of change.

How are you getting on with your New Year Resolutions and Commitments?

Change for good manifesto Jan 2013
Column One Column Two Column three Column Four Column Five
Fail Pass Pass Pass Fail
Pass Fail Pass Pass Pass
Pass Fail Pass Pass Pass
Fail Pass Pass Pass Pass
Pass Fail Pass Fail Pass
Fail Pass Fail Pass Pass
3 out of 6 3 out of 6 5 out of 6 5 out of 6 5 out of 6

 

About My Next Endeavour

Hi everyone, Two words everyone reading this blog needs to know about me - Change and Positivity. I'm recently unemployed but discovering a love of new things and a new me is emerging. I am in my mid 30;s and created this little piece of ths internet just for me. Maybe it will be rambling but maybe it will inspire me and others who are going through unemployment in these awful times to keep busy and learn something new that will assist you further in life. Please feel free to email me or comment on any of my posts. Let me know that you are out there. Mynextendeavour@gmail.com S
This entry was posted in change, inspiration, Resolution and Commitment, rules and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Change Manifesto – Month 1.

  1. anna3101 says:

    Looks good! Congratulations! I think I’m also doing quite well, most of the things I have planned for January have been done, hopefully the trend will continue in February. I did fail miserably with going to yoga or starting a dance course but I’m working on finding something that will both please me and let me lose a bit of weight. On the other hand, I’ve been working quite diligently on my languages – English, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch & Polish – something I haven’t done for a long time, so I’m pleased with myself 🙂

Leave a comment