My big Move!

hi everyone,

Its been a while since I last posted on here and I thought now would be the perfect time to get back in to writing my blog. I have made a big move! In fact a huge move.   I have moved to Boston. …. yes, thats Boston in the big ole U.S of A. 

Like so many other Irish people before me, and sadly after me I have decided that in order to restore myself self respect and get myself a full time permanent job with some hope of prospect, and internal respect, I need to leave Ireland.  The Gathering is more like the scattering these days with the amount of people leaving Ireland.  I have lost count of the amount of people in the days leading to interview and than finally immigration that I saw crying and waving good bye to people in the airport departures area.

I love everything America, the culture, the people, the service and so much more.  But in June of this year, I made the big move.  I did get an internship in Ireland on the jobsbridge scheme, but while it was everything I had hoped for in a positive light, I needed a permanent job and the stability that it brings with it.  The company I took the intership with was a good company with good intentions behind it to make a permanent job there for me.  But they did not have the company know how and drive that I so wanted.  I took to looking at other companies in Ireland, nobody wanted to hire me.  It was as simple as that.   I am not sure why… as I have recently got a job in a highly prestigious American college… or a third level institute as we call them in Ireland.  Maybe they thought my salary expectations were higher than I was applying for. .. because I am in my mid thirties, people expect that you want big money, which yes I was previously on and people thought I had ties in my home town, but I didn’t I could move.  But I am not really sure if people believed me when I said that.

I firmly believe that HR people believe they know what you want when they are interviewing you. They try to read your mind more than you will ever know.  But for other HR people out there, don’t read anyones mind…. if someone applies for the job its because they want they job, in fact need the job.  DO NOT second guess their application.

So I took to looking at other options and I found a job in Boston.   I applied, got an interview… yes I didn’t have a visa otion at that sgage, but I took the interview and got myself on a plane over to Boston.  And you know what … I got the job and I got the support I needed to get a visa to work here.  So far I am loving it.  I won’t bore everyone with tails of visa application sand paperwork, but needless to say a blog post about filling in application forms is definetly needed for anyone out there who is filling forms for any sort of application. ( I want to follow this with an expletive, but I am too much of a lady these days to do such a thing)

I am working in an college setting here, within their administration department. I have been lucky enough to get to work with some great people.  And because of all of this and the great change in my life,  I have decided to start my blog back up again to show a new life can be dreamt possible.

I hope you enjoy reading.

About My Next Endeavour

Hi everyone, Two words everyone reading this blog needs to know about me - Change and Positivity. I'm recently unemployed but discovering a love of new things and a new me is emerging. I am in my mid 30;s and created this little piece of ths internet just for me. Maybe it will be rambling but maybe it will inspire me and others who are going through unemployment in these awful times to keep busy and learn something new that will assist you further in life. Please feel free to email me or comment on any of my posts. Let me know that you are out there. Mynextendeavour@gmail.com S
This entry was posted in a place of yes, boston, career direction, challenge, new start, Resolution and Commitment, restarting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

