A step to a new career – Do you need to learn a new task?

Many of us set goals that we want to achieve on a daily, weekly or monthly basis. They may be small tasks like getting the shopping done to that bigger task of getting employed.   These tasks have two things in common– they are goals which we have set for ourselves and they have small steps that we need to take to achieve these goals.

They are no easy feat to accomplish no matter which task it is that you are looking at.

Let’s take a look at both goals we want to achieve this week?

Going shopping – getting that weekly shop in can sometimes pose more obstacles than we would like.   Firstly, we have to get the kids to school or we need to clean the house before we go, or we need to actually look at what is in the cupboards before we go.   These are all tasks or steps that we need to review before we can reach our goal.

So now, let’s look at the other task of getting a job – this one is not easy – but if we look at it in the same way as our shopping it actually isn’t that different.    When we are looking for a job we need to ask ourselves certain questions such as do we know what we want to work at or do we need to look at the cupboard of our own skills?

When you are unemployed and looking for a new job, you suddenly realise that the world is your oyster and that you can free to apply for whatever job you want.  It is an amazing and wonderful feeling and for someone like me who is mid-30’s it made me feel like I had just left school and had my whole career ahead of me again.  It was an amazing feeling.  But looking at all the jobs out there and yes surprisingly in Ireland in the recessionary times that we are in, jobs are being advertised and they are out there. But if you are feeling like me, and the world is your oyster, you are probably applying for jobs which you know you can do, have the skills for but on paper you are wildly unqualified to do.   This is when you need to look in your own skills cupboard.  You need to ask yourself am i actually qualified to do this job or is there someone out there who is more qualified on paper than me.  If you can answer yes to this question ,you need to revisit your cupboard – similar to doing your weekly shopping and wanting to make a certain meal  – do you have the right ingredients?

It is at this point in your job search that you need to ask yourself another question –  do I need to a job to pay the bills or do I have the ability to go out and get myself a new skill that will qualify me on paper to do that job.   When you answer these questions, you can then set yourselves the steps needed to make your goal happen.

 Even if you need to take a job to pay the bills or to get back working again – then you still have the choice to be able to go back to Night College and make your goal happen.

Do you need to set tasks or steps to make your career goal happen?   Let me know what steps or goals you need to take to make it happen.

About My Next Endeavour

Hi everyone, Two words everyone reading this blog needs to know about me - Change and Positivity. I'm recently unemployed but discovering a love of new things and a new me is emerging. I am in my mid 30;s and created this little piece of ths internet just for me. Maybe it will be rambling but maybe it will inspire me and others who are going through unemployment in these awful times to keep busy and learn something new that will assist you further in life. Please feel free to email me or comment on any of my posts. Let me know that you are out there. Mynextendeavour@gmail.com S
This entry was posted in a place of yes, career direction, cv, inspiration, Ireland, job hunting, new job, recession and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

