Weight Watchers point in my baking

Hi everyone,propoints

I just wanted to do a quick update for you guys on weight watcher points in my baking that I have done so far.

My odlums scones – the packet says that the ingredients make six scones – I make more than that as I make smaller scones then the packet says – therefore I estimate that my scones work out at 3 pro points per scone.    This is the beauty of baking – you have the ability to make your ingredients better and make things smaller than is recommended.   You will always remember being told in your weight watchers meeting that it is all about the portion sizing and that is so true and easier to manage when you are in control of those portions especially when baking.

My apple tart – an apple pie slice normally comes in at approximately 5 pro points. When it comes to my apple tart – it really does depend on each person and the slice that they take for themselves.  Personally I load my apple tart on apples – Bramley seem to the best and I try to limit the amount of sugar that I put in the apple tart.   When it comes to taking a slice I am lucky that my house mates love my apple tart and tend to eat more of it than I do.   So I an normally left with very little apple tart to actually eat for myself. I am not complaining I take a small slice which I normally point at anywhere between 3 /4 pro points – which is for the pastry.

I hope this helps some of you guys out there.  As I said above it is all to do with the portion sizing and the control you have with taking your slice.

S

About My Next Endeavour

Hi everyone, Two words everyone reading this blog needs to know about me - Change and Positivity. I'm recently unemployed but discovering a love of new things and a new me is emerging. I am in my mid 30;s and created this little piece of ths internet just for me. Maybe it will be rambling but maybe it will inspire me and others who are going through unemployment in these awful times to keep busy and learn something new that will assist you further in life. Please feel free to email me or comment on any of my posts. Let me know that you are out there. Mynextendeavour@gmail.com S
This entry was posted in baking, odlums, pro points, Resolution and Commitment, weight watchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weight Watchers point in my baking

  1. anna3101 says:

    I’ve recently read a very good piece of advice about eating – very good for a sugarholic that I am. I’m totally addicted to sweets and I’m trying to fight it but it’s hard. The advice goes as follows: eat whatever tasty sweat treat you want but only if you cook it yourself. It’s actually quite good! I’m not able to bake every day so that limits the number of tasties I put in my mouth. Plus, I’m always in control of what I put in there. I always exchange:

    sugar for xylitol (natural sweetener)
    white flour for wholegrain flour + bran
    butter for olive oil

    the taste of muffins, cakes and biscuits is still good, and I get less of unhealthy stuff. Plus, I’ve learnt to make pancakes without any oil and either with water or with 1% fat milk. Yum 🙂 Add some homemade jam and it’s a real treat. I make jam with agava or xylitol and I add only half of the amount indicated in the recipe. They still taste good and are well-preserved throughout the winter.

Leave a Reply

