Apple Tart

I have always wanted to able to bake – so as you saw I started with easy bake scones.  But I have now graduated to an Apple Tart, and I have got to say it was pretty damn tasty.

I will be honest this is my second attempt at making the tart because the first time I read the instructions completely wrong and ended up with watery dough.  So rule number one of baking – always double check the ingredients.

IngredientsApple Tart Ingredients

225g / 8oz Odlums Cream Plain Flour
125g / 4oz Margarine
1/4 pint / 150ml Cold Water (approx.)
4 Large Cooking Apples (peeled, cored and sliced)
Sugar to sweeten apples

Step by Step

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C/400°F/Gas 6.
  2. Sieve flour into a bowl.
  3. Grate margarine into the flour. Make sure the margarine is hard and mind your fingers.
  4. Mix grated margarine into flour.
  5. Add water a little at a time and mix to a soft dough.
  6. Turn onto a floured board and knead lightly.
  7. Roll out half the pastry to the size of an oven proof plate.
  8. Cut off any excess over the plate.
  9. Arrange apples on the pastry.
  10. Sprinkle with sugar to sweeten. This really does depend on how sweet you like your apple tart.
  11. Roll remaining pastry to cover the apples.
  12. cut off any excess over the plate size.
  13. Dampen edge of base pastry with cold water to seal.
  14. Press top pastry over apples to make the tart.
  15. Seal the edges by using the back of a knife to form a crust.
  16. Stab a knife in to the top of the tart to allow cooking inside and steam to escape.
  17. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes.

And Voilá you have an apple tart – I used alittle left over pastry to make alittle apple shape in the middle of the tart.

Apple Tart Result 3

About My Next Endeavour

Hi everyone, Two words everyone reading this blog needs to know about me - Change and Positivity. I'm recently unemployed but discovering a love of new things and a new me is emerging. I am in my mid 30;s and created this little piece of ths internet just for me. Maybe it will be rambling but maybe it will inspire me and others who are going through unemployment in these awful times to keep busy and learn something new that will assist you further in life. Please feel free to email me or comment on any of my posts. Let me know that you are out there. Mynextendeavour@gmail.com S
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, odlums, weight watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

