Resolution and Commitment Week – Career Development

My career, learning and development have always been important to me.  Being the best that I can be at my job means more than I can express in words.  After losing my job last year I felt like I lost my purpose in life but also that I had lost opportunities in my previous role to develop myself further and make myself more marketable to other companies.Personal Development

This year I am committing not to let that happen again. I am going to do all that I can so that if I find myself unemployed again I know that I will be more marketable to other companies.

How am I going to achieve this? 

Taking an accredited course through a local college to enable me to teach to other adults on various topics within my expertise.

Looking and learning from online courses in order to expand my knowledge. I have recently come across a website called Allison. This is a company which provides FREE online courses in various subject areas which I can use to enhance my knowledge in areas just as project management, procurement or other areas such as IT and finance.  Whilst they do not provide an accredited qualification it will enhance my own learning and knowledge in certain areas which will only benefit myself and my career in the long run.

Updating my CV.  In my last job I did so many tasks and learnt so many new skills that when it came to write my CV I forgot a few of them.  With my new job I know that I am going to be job hunting cyclelearning more and more and gaining more skills from it, therefore I am committing to reviewing my CV on a regular basis and ensuring it is as up to date as it can be.  Also, I am going to look at job descriptions for the area I want to work in to check out what are the new up and coming skills which I should be focusing on and developing myself in order to ensure when the time is right for me to move on – I can.  Nothing will stop me or hold me back.

Whilst some people don’t necessarily write down the steps that they are going to take in terms of the resolutions for career development.  I don’t want to find myself unemployed for such a long period of time again so I am making sure I don’t find myself in that position again.

Do you have any career related resolutions? Let me know in the comments?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

About My Next Endeavour

Hi everyone, Two words everyone reading this blog needs to know about me - Change and Positivity. I'm recently unemployed but discovering a love of new things and a new me is emerging. I am in my mid 30;s and created this little piece of ths internet just for me. Maybe it will be rambling but maybe it will inspire me and others who are going through unemployment in these awful times to keep busy and learn something new that will assist you further in life. Please feel free to email me or comment on any of my posts. Let me know that you are out there. Mynextendeavour@gmail.com S
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

