2012 – a year in review

Thinking about making new year resolutions and commitments to myself got me thinking about what I have learned and achieved in 2012 and I am about to talk you through some things that I have learned in this past year.     Although thinking about them got me quite depressed today because I think a lot of them have been negative and I hope I manage to see the positivity in things.

What I learned in 2012

I want to get Married

This year my BFF got married and it made me realise for the first time ever that I do want to get married and have that special day.

Blogging

I started this blog when I lost my job for a purpose and plabloggingce to talk and chat about whatever. So far I have found this to be very therapeutic even sometimes if I don’t publish what I have typed and I feel a sense of relief with it.   So this is why 2013 will be the year of my blog as well my re-development.

Addiction to reality TV

Guilty as charged – when I wasn’t working I got addicted to the Real Housewives of Orange County and New York City.   I have discovered and learnt that I love trash tv!

Pinterest RocksPinterest_Logo

Yes, I love pinterest and have an addiction to yet another social media site.  Why not follow me – my username is mynextendeavour

Reached my WW goal

I was so happy when I reached my weight watchers goal, i was skinny and most importantly healthy.  When I lost my job I ate alittle .. ok alot but that is all changing now that I am back in a routine again so maybe in a few months time I will be celebrating again getting back to my skinny self.

Madrid Rocksmadrid

I visited Madrid in the autumn and it is a wonderful city. I would highly recommend this city to anyone who loves shopping and culture as you get the best of both worlds. I will publish a review of my time in Madrid at some stage on my blog but if you are interested in know anything about Madrid please just ask.

Redundancyjob cuts

My company went in to liquidation during the year and for the first time in my life I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t know how to go and claim my rights to social welfare or what exactly my rights were now that my company was no more.  That was the most frightening time of my life, having to go and ask for help was not something that I was used too and not knowing what to do was also something that was new to me.   I am used to being in control of my life and I wasn’t anymore.

What I learned from this experience – I learned that it is ok to ask for help and that people don’t look at you any differently when you are unemployed despite what you are thinking in your head.

People who work in recruitment SUCK!devil recruitment

Yes, that is correct they suck. I have gone to so many agencies with no responses. I have asked specific people for help and they have reneged on their promises time and time again.   I think that the reason the country is so much depression is due to people like this who are not helping and not even replying to emails. Or the people who are promising to help yet never do – and they take money to help you even when are not exactly flush with it.  One example is a person I paid 100euro to help with my CV – she said she would provide two CV.   I paid 100euro after our meeting and I chase for three weeks to get my first CV and I am still waiting to receive the second.  I am waiting for the New Year to follow-up with this person again to get what I have paid for. I have been nice about this and not screamed the company name and her from the roof tops but if I don’t get an answer soon than maybe I will.  Strangely enough since I started working I have heard other horror stories about this person so maybe if there more widely published I wouldn’t have fallen for her bs. Lesson learned huh?

Just let some friends gofriendship

I had a best friend who when everything went wrong in my job she left me too.  Despite the calls and texts of meeting up nothing ever occurred. I heard through a mutual friend of ours that when asked how I was there was a tense response that led her to believe there was something after going wrong with our friendship or an argument.  In reality there wasn’t.  She never contacted me to make arrangements for nights out and things fizzled out as a friendship.  I extended the hand of kindness recently with a Christmas card and received a text of happy Christmas with again another message saying we should meet up.  I replied sure let me know when – I’m still waiting for a reply.   Am I wrong in thinking the ball is in her court?

What I learned from this experience – sometimes you just have to let people go. If they don’t want me in their life that is their loss not mine.

 Depressiondepression

Going through all of the above has left me somewhat depressed with life in general.   I felt like there was a stigma attached to being unemployed in that people would think that I was sponging off the Government despite the fact I have paid my taxes for over 20 years as a working person.  It was also hard receiving knock back and no answers from recruitment agencies.  It was hard hearing promises from people that filled me with so much hope only to be knocked back and not given the service and help that they provided and I paid for.

What I learned from this experience – I am still learning.  I am learning how to cope with the voices inside my head and I am hoping that with my resolutions and commitments to myself for 2013 that I will battle beyond this feeling I have at the moment and come out this time next year a happy smiling person.

Looking back on everything I have had many experiences which have shaped the way I am today and have brought me to the place of making my resolutions and commitments which will follow throughout the next week on the blog.

I hope that you take some time to go through your memories of 2012 and let me know what they are in the comments.

S

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

About My Next Endeavour

Hi everyone, Two words everyone reading this blog needs to know about me - Change and Positivity. I'm recently unemployed but discovering a love of new things and a new me is emerging. I am in my mid 30;s and created this little piece of ths internet just for me. Maybe it will be rambling but maybe it will inspire me and others who are going through unemployment in these awful times to keep busy and learn something new that will assist you further in life. Please feel free to email me or comment on any of my posts. Let me know that you are out there. Mynextendeavour@gmail.com S
This entry was posted in change, inspiration, pinterest, Resolution and Commitment, restarting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

